Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019, Match 20- RCB Vs DC, Preview: Virat Kohli And His Men To Hit With Full Throttle Against Irregular Delhi

After the fascinating and intriguing double header Saturday, it is now time for the captivating Super Sunday IPL carnival to take the centerstage. In the first game of the day, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will be hosting Delhi Capitals (DC) at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The hosts have thus far experienced a dreadful run in the season, losing five back-to-back matches and thus, they are languishing at the bottom of the points table. On the other hand, the Shreyas Iyer-led team has registered two contrasting wins and also three slumping losses.

After five straight losses, it now seems as if a first victory has become a mountainous task for the Virat Kohli-led team. However, the hosts came very close to eclipsing the opening barrier in the previous home game, but then Andre Russell came out of nowhere to propel his team towards an unbelievable victory. The RCB team management will be feeling quite confident after the sensational combined effort by the batsmen in the previous game. 

However, the biggest concern which RCB and many other teams in IPL 2019 are stressing its never-ending death bowling struggles. After claiming a commanding position, it still feels hard to digest the fact that the RCB bowlers managed to give away 52 runs in the last two overs. They need to quickly find a solution to end their bowling woes.

On the other hand, the Delhi Capitals have a lot of things to ponder about before getting ready to play its sixth encounter of the season. The lack of experience in batting is definitely hurting the Shreyas Iyer-led team. Shikhar Dhawan was bought by the franchisee to strengthen the batting line-up, but he has thus far failed to leave his mark. The likes of Prithvi Shaw, skipper Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Colin Ingram have also not yet to score on consistent basis.

Their bowling has been up to the mark in this season as both the fast bowlers as well as the pacers have bowled really well. They would now be hoping to continue their good work in this game as well.

Head to Head Battle





Overall (22)




At the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (10)




Royal Challengers Bangalore’s likely Playing XI

Even after a heartening loss in the previous game, the hosts are likely to field an unchanged team in this match. This means that the duo comprising of skipper Virat Kohli and Parthiv Patel will open the batting for RCB. The in-form AB de Villiers will take up the crucial No.3 spot. The pair of Moeen Ali and Marcus Stoinis will be the two all-rounders. Wicket-keeper batsman Akshdeep Nath will don the gloves in this game as well.

In the fast bowling department, Tim Southee will partner with the likes of Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Siraj. The duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Pawan Negi will handle the spin bowling duties. Pawan Negi did really well in the previous match and thus, he will retain his place.

Probable XI: Virat Kohli (c), Parthiv Patel, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis, Moeen Ali, Akshdeep Nath (wk), Pawan Negi, Tim Southee, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Delhi Capitals’ likely Playing XI

The opening duo of Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan would be desperately hoping to provide their team with a blazing start. DC skipper Shreyas Iyer will come in at three, while the likes of Rishabh Pant and Colin Ingram’s batting positions will be decided in accordance with the situation of the game. The idea of promoting Rahul Tewatia also backfired in the last game, but he will still retain his place and will accompany Axar Patel and Sandeep Lamichhane in the spin bowling department.

Chris Morris will guard the finisher’s role and will also partner with the likes of Kagiso Rabada and Ishant Sharma in the fast bowling contingent.

Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Colin Ingram, Axar Patel, Chris Morris, Rahul Tewatia, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane.

Match Timings- 4:00 pm IST and local

Broadcast Details- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD.



Listen to Live Hindi Commentary: Click Here