Breaking News

Cricplex World Cup 2019

ICC World Cup 2019: Bangladesh Announce 15-Member Squad For The Quadrennial Event

After New Zealand, Australia and India, Bangladesh has become the fourth team to announce its final 15-member squad for the upcoming 2019 World Cup. The all-important 50-overs mega event will be kicking off with the opening game between hosts England and South Africa on May 30 in London. While the Bangladeshi Tigers will also starting their World Cup campaign against South Africa on June 5 in London.

Jayed earns dream call-up; Shakib named vice-captain

The biggest headlining point from the squad announcement is the comeback of premier all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan. He missed the recent entire tour to New Zealand due to a finger injury, but he has recovered from the same and is currently playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the ongoing 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Shakib has been named as the vice-captain of the national team and he will be replacing fellow left-hander, Mominul Haque.

25-year-old medium pacer, Abu Jayed has earned a dream call-up to the national team for the upcoming edition of the quadrennial event. He has been included in the side ahead of premier fast bowler Taskin Ahmed, who has been out of contention for quite a while now due to a ligament injury.

"Taskin played his last ODI in October 2017 and it was a long break for him. When we thought about him again for the New Zealand series he sustained an injury once again. According to the reports we have, he is not fit. He represented (his domestic team) in one match but his fitness is still not up to the mark," said Minhajul Abedin, the national chief selector. While speaking on Jayed’s inclusion, Minhajul said, “He can swing the ball and we felt that can add value to our bowling attack."

Mosaddek gets his first World Cup call-up

Tamim Iqbal is the premier opener in the side led by Mashrafe Mortaza, while his probable partners are Imrul Kayes and Litton Das. In the middle-order department, the selectors have persisted with the likes of Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman and Mohammad Mithun. Mohammad Saifuddin and Mehidy Hasan along with the surprise entrée, Mosaddek Hossain are the three all-rounders.

“Mossadek did well in (recent) domestic tournaments. We want an all-rounder who can bowl off-spin. Mahmudullah has a shoulder injury, so he may not bowl over there (in the World Cup). As a back-up spin all-rounder, we included Mossadek," Minhajul added.

In the bowling department, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin and Abu Jayed are the pacers, while Mehidy Hasan and Shakib Al Hasan are the two frontline spin bowling options.

Bangladesh’s 15-member squad for the 2019 World Cup

Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed.