Breaking News

Cricplex World Cup 2019

ICC World Cup 2019: The List Of Umpires Announced For The Tournament

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the names of the match officials for the league phase of the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019. The announced list contains the names of the best 22 match officials from around the globe who will be officiating in the league games. The 16 umpires and six match referees finalized for the 48-match tournament include prominent members of past World Cup-winning sides who will play a vital part in the delivery of the 30 May-14 July tournament that brings together the world’s top 10 ODI sides.

The all-important 50-overs quadrennial event will be kicking off with the opening game between hosts England and South Africa on May 30 in London. In that match, three World Cup winning team members will be officiating in David Boon, the match referee, Kumar Dharmasena one of the two on-field umpires and Paul Reiffel being the third umpire. While Bruce Oxenford will be the other on-field umpire and Joel Wilson the fourth official for the opening encounter.

David Boon was part of the Allan Border-led Australian team that won their first World cup trophy in 1987, Paul Reiffel was a member of the World Cup winning Australian team led by Steve Waugh in 1999 and Kumar Dharmasena was part of the Sri Lankan team that won the World Cup under the captaincy of Arjuna Ranatunga in 1996.

It is the pinnacle of an official’s career

Adrian Griffith, the ICC Senior Manager- Umpires and Referees, revealed that officiating at a big tournament such as the World Cu[ is a big honour. He further noted that it is pinnacle moment of an official’s career. “Officiating at the World Cup as with playing, is an honour and the pinnacle of an official’s career. It is a tough job with the eyes of the cricketing world on every decision, but this group of 22 is the very best from around the world who will rise to the occasion. I wish them all the very best,” quoted Adrian Griffith.

Others officiating during the tournament will be: Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Ranjan Madugalle, Richie Richardson (all match referees); Aleem Dar, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Sundaram Ravi, Rod Tucker, Michael Gough, Paul Wilson (all umpires).