Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019: Playoffs To Start From 7:30 Pm Instead Of 8:00 Pm

The ongoing 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a greatly successful and thrilling expedition thus far and is currently into its business end. All the eight teams are battling with their highest of abilities to stake a chance to win the prestigious trophy. In the major revelation, the Supreme Court appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) has decided that the playoffs of IPL 2019 will begin early from 7:30 pm instead of the scheduled 8:00 pm start time.

The Rajiv Gandhi International (RGI) Stadium in Hyderabad will be hosting the Grand Finale of the lucrative league. While Chennai will play hosts for the Qualifier 1, while the Eliminator and the second Qualifier is scheduled to take place in Visakhapatnam.  The playoffs of the 11th edition of the lucrative league had also started at 7:00 pm.

Dew is a huge factor

While speaking on the development, a senior BCCI executive revealed that since the playoffs will be held in the south region, the dew factor will surely come into play to a great extent. The official broadcaster of the IPL, Star Sports had also earlier requested the board for the matches to early start as the playoffs will be followed by an elaborate presentation ceremony. Thus, the officials also decided to bring the early start decision into effect.

“We have the playoffs in the south where dew is a huge factor. Also, Star had written to us to prepone the timings. If you realise, there is the case of an extended presentation ceremony after the playoffs. Keeping all this in mind, it was felt that we should bring it forward,” the senior BCCI executive inferred.

The decision was made final in the meeting held in New Delhi on Saturday (April 27), members comprising of Saba Karim, Vinod Rai, Diana Edulji and Lt. Gen. Ravi Thodge. Saba Karim was scheduled to present the names for the Arjuna award nominations and the conflict of interest issue involving former cricketers in Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman, over their multiple roles.