Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019, Match 48- SRH Vs KXIP, Preview: Shattered Teams Aim To Retain Their Playoff Hopes

After a cracking doubleheader Sunday, it is now time to shift focus back to normalization. In the 48th game of exciting Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 extravaganza, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) will be locking horns with the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on April 29. Both the teams will be coming into this game very much low on confidence as they have conceded comprehensive losses in their respective previous outings. In the first meeting between these two teams earlier in the tournament, KXIP emerged victorious with a fabulous 6-wicket victory over the 2016 champions.

SRH’s backstory

The Kane Williamson-led team will be entering this match on the back of conceding a convincing seven-wicket defeat at the hands of the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the previous outing. With this drubbing, they Hyderabad-based franchisee are reduced in a tough state wherein they need to win all their remaining three games in order to qualify for the playoffs. The SRH team management needs to work on some of the concerning areas if the side wants to do well in the upcoming games.

The middle-order batting struggles is one such area which needs to be sorted. With Jonny Bairstow already gone back home, the dependency on David Warner’s shoulder has increased to a greater extent. While the bowlers have also struggled to attain any sort of consistency and thus, they will be desperate to come good in the upcoming games.

KXIP’s backstory

The Ravichandran Ashwin-led team is also coming into this match after conceding a 17-run loss against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the last game. After this defeat, KXIP team have also been reduced in a similar position where SRH are placed. They also desperately need to win all of their remaining three matches to book a berth in the playoffs. Majority of the batsmen looked in a good nick in the last match, but still each of them failed to convert their starts into big innings and this has been the story of KXIP batting this season.

Keeping Ravichandran Ashwin’s excellent performance aside, the other KXIP bowlers have struggled to hit the right lengths on a regular basis in the last few games. Murugan Ashwin and Mohammed Shami have bowled well in patches, but the latter gave away too many runs in the last match.

Head to Head Battle




Overall (13)



At the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium (6)



Sunrisers Hyderabad’s likely Playing XI

The duo comprising of David Warner and skipper Kane Williamson will once again open the batting. The in-form Manish Pandey will take up the crucial number three spot, while Vijay Shankar will come in at four. Both Deepak Hooda and Shakib Al Hasan haven’t looked convincing this season and both of them will most probably make way for Yusuf Pathan and Mohammad Nabi respectively. Wriddhiman Saha will bat down the order as well as don the gloves.

The trio comprising of Khaleel Ahmed, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Siddarth Kaul will form part of the pace bowling attack. The Afghan duo of Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi will take care of the spin bowling department.

Probable XI: David Warner, Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul.

Kings XI Punjab’s likely Playing XI

Even after conceding a loss in the last match, KXIP team will most likely retain the same combination in this game as well. This means that the explosive pair of Chris Gayle and KL Rahul will open the innings. Mayank Agarwal will head the middle-order which will include the likes of David Miller, Nicholas Pooran as the wicket-keeper batsman and Mandeep Singh will play the role of a floater.

They could look to bring back all-rounder Sam Curran in place of Hardus Viljoen, who ended with pretty expensive figures in the last match. The pace bowling pair of Mohammed Shami and Ankit Rajpoot will retain their spots. The Ashwin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Murugan Ashwin will continue to handle the spin bowling duties.

Probable XI: Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, David Miller, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Mandeep Singh, Sam Curran/ Hardus Viljoen, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Mohammed Shami, Ankit Rajpoot, Murugan Ashwin.

Match Timings- 8:00 pm IST and local

Broadcast Details- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD.



Listen to Live Hindi Commentary: Click Here