Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019, Qualifier 2- CSK Vs DC, Preview: Chennai And Delhi Set To Battle Out For The Ticket To The Grand Finale

After an intruding contest in the Eliminator, it is time to shift the entire focus to the second Qualifier of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 edition, wherein the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will be facing the Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on May 10, Friday. Both the teams will be desperately chasing a victory in this match as the winning side will take on the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the finals of the tournament on Sunday (May 12). These two teams have met each other twice earlier in the tournament and on both the occasions, Chennai Super Kings emerged victorious by comprehensive margins.  

CSK’s backstory

The MS Dhoni-led is coming into this game on the back of conceding a comprehensive 6-wicket loss at the hands of the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the previous outing. The two major concerning areas which would worry the CSK team management is the poor form of the top-order batters and the lacklustre effort in the field. Keeping aside MS Dhoni’s sensational numbers, the rest of the CSK batsmen have failed to live up to the expectations of the team management.

The experienced likes of Shane Watson, Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu have been the major disappointments. The latter did scored some vital runs in the last match, but that knock came at a very slow rate. However, the CSK bowlers were once again very much upto the mark in the last game as they have been in the season thus far. They would now be expected to come good in this important encounter as well.

DC’s backstory

The Shreyas Iyer-led team will be arriving into this match after pulling off an astonishing 2-wicket win over the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the previous outing. The nerve-wracking victory was also Delhi Capitals’ first win in the playoffs of the IPL. But they still have some concerning areas which need to be sorted pretty quickly in order to beat a quality unit such as CSK. Shikhar Dhawan’s poor form which has continued in the last few matches, will be the big concern for the team management. The rest of the batters will also hoping to put forward an improved effort in this important game. Their bowling has also been very much on the money as both the fast bowlers and the spinners have done really in the season thus far.

Head to Head Battle




Overall (19)



Chennai Super Kings’ likely Playing XI

Even after regular failures, the CSK team management will once again back Shane Watson to step up on this big occasion. Thus, he will open the batting along with Faf du Plessis. The other batsman who has failed to impress this season is Suresh Raina. The experienced campaigner will take up the crucial number three position with Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni to follow.

Murali Vijay will once again be preferred for Kedar Jadhav, who will not be able to take part in the remainder season due to shoulder injury. However Dhoni could also come up with a surprise selection. In the bowling department, Harbhajan, Tahir and Jadeja will be the spinners, while Bravo and Chahar will handle the pace bowling duties.

Probable XI: Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir.

Delhi Capitals’ likely Playing XI

The DC team management also has no major reasons to tinker with the winning combination. This means that the duo comprising of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw will once again take their guards as the openers. DC skipper Shreyas Iyer will take up the crucial number three slot and will hope to lead from the front in this crucial game. The other middle-order positions will be taken by Colin Munro and Rishabh Pant. 

The duo of Sherfane Rutherford and Axar Patel will be the two all-rounders. Axar Patel and Amit Mishra will be the two spinners. Ishant Sharma, Keemo Paul and Trent Boult will take care of the fast bowling duties. 

Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Colin Munro, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sherfane Rutherford, Axar Patel, Keemo Paul, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Trent Boult. 

Match Timings- 7:30 pm IST and local

Broadcast Details- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD.



Listen to Live Hindi Commentary: Click Here