Breaking News

Cricplex TNPL 2019

Silambarasan’s Four-Fer Seals The Deal For The Dindigul Dragons

The fourth edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2019 has hit the centerstage with an exciting opening encounter. In the tournament opener, Dindigul Dragons (DD) have managed to eclipse the Chepauk Super Gillies (CSG) by a small margin of 10 runs at the NPR College Ground in Dindigul. It was a low-scoring game which saw spinners from both the sides taking pretty good advantage of the conditions on offer.

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, the Dindigul Dragons got off to a poor start losing their first wicket in the form of Hari Nishanth in just the second over of the innings. The pair of N Jagadeesan and skipper Ravichandran Ashwin steadied the things with a small partnership of 36 runs before the former threw his wicket away in the sixth over. Ashwin was middling the ball really well during his stay of 37 runs off 19 balls in which he scored five fours and one six before Murugan Ashwin took a fantastic catch off his own bowling.

After skipper Ashwin’s dismissal, the Dragons kept losing wickets on regular intervals as none of their batters focussed on playing a responsible innings. Majority of the middle-order batters even failed to cross the single digit mark as the Dindigul Dragons only managed to reach 115 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in their quota of 20 overs. For Chepauk, R Alexander picked up three vital wickets and Ashwin ended with two scalps.

Super Gillies left in absolute tatters

Chasing a target of 116 runs, the Super Gillies got off to a horrendous start as they lost three top-order wickets of Kaushik Gandhi, Gopinath and Ganga Sridhar Raju with just 11 runs on the scoreboard. Then the trio of A Aarif, Uthirasamy Sasidev and Murugan Ashwin also got out pretty soon leaving their team in absolute tatters at 58 for 6.

Dindigul’s left-arm spinner M Silambarasan kept spinning a web around the opposition team and their players kept digging their own graves. After losing key wickets early in the chase, Chepauk’s innings never really kicked on and eventually they fell short of the target by 10 runs.

In their quota of 20 overs, they managed to reach 105 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. For the Dragons, Silambarasan finished with a crucial four-wicket haul, while Kaushik and Mohammed took two scalps each.

Brief Scores

Dindigul Dragons: 115/9 in 20 overs (Ravichandran Ashwin-37, NS Chaturved-21; R Alexander 3/11, Murugan Ashwin 2/15)

Chepauk Super Gillies: 105/9 in 20 overs (A Aarif-16, Murugan Ashwin-16; M Silambarasan 4/13, Jagannathan Kaushik 2/14)

Result: Dindigul Dragons won the match by 10 runs.