Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

Thisara Perera And Niroshan Dickwella Refused CPL 2019 NOC

It has been a very tough time for the Pakistan cricket fans that international cricket is not played in the country. The international teams haven’t showed much of interest of travelling to Pakistan since the attacks on the Sri Lankan team bus some years ago. Thus, the security issues have been the main reason for the teams’ reluctance.

The likes of T20I skipper Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera and Niroshan Dickwella will not be touring Pakistan. All these players mentioned security concerns as the reason for pulling out of the tour.

The Sri Lankan Cricket Board (SLC) has refused to provide NOC to Thisara Perera and Niroshan Dickwella to play in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2019. It was informed by the SLC CEO Ashley de Silva that the board has a policy of not giving a NOC to a cricketer who pulls out of the national tour. Dickwella and Perera are part of St Lucia Zouks and the former also played a game in the tournament.

“It’s our policy not to give NOCs when there is a national tour, and the players would have known that. So Dickwella has not been granted a NOC and will be expected to train with the national team in the next few weeks. We have also asked Thisara to return to the country on September 15, so he can also join the team in training,” quoted Ashley de Silva.