Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

Quinton De Kock Appointed South Africa Captain For England ODIs

After facing a stern transition phase in the T20Is and Test matches, South Africa have yet again opted for an inexperienced team for the upcoming three-match ODI series against England. In a major step, Cricket South Africa (CSA) have decided to sack Faf du Plessis from the national side and have appointed Quinton de Kock as the new ODI captain. The three-match ODI series between South Africa and England will be commencing on February 4.

De Kock had also captained the South Africa side in the three-match T20I series against India. The South African selectors have named as many as five uncapped players in Lutho Sipamla, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Janneman Malan and Kyle Verreynne.

"We all know the quality of the player that Quinton de Kock has grown to become. Over the years, we have watched him grow in confidence and become one of the top ODI wicket-keeper batsmen in the world. He has a unique outlook and manner in which he goes about his business and is tactically very street smart. We are confident that the new leadership role will bring out the best in him as a cricketer and that he can take the team forward into the future and produce results that South Africans the world over can be very proud of. We wish him the very best in this new role and look forward to watching him make his mark in this series against the World Cup Champions," quoted CSA Acting Director Graeme Smith.

"We are really pleased with the squad we have selected, it is a good indication of the depth that we have in the country. The road towards the 2023 Cricket World Cup starts now and we want players doing well in our domestic structures to see the rewards of the hard work that they have put in. The pool that we build going forward is going to be vital in the selection of that 2023 World Cup squad but also without looking too far ahead, we are confident that we have players that will make South Africa proud in this ODI series against a confident England team," said CSA selector Linda Zondi.

South Africa’s ODI squad

Quinton de Kock (c), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Jon Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lutho Sipamla, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Kyle Verreynne.