Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

Reports: Bruce Oxenford Not Offended By MS Dhoni’s Reaction

Former Indian and current Chennai Super Kings (CSK) skipper, MS Dhoni is known for his calm and composed attitude in even the best of pressure situations. There have been hardly one or two instances where the matters had shifted out of the turnbuckle reach after which he was forced to break the shackles. However, during the recent game against Rajasthan Royals (RR), the world witnessed the strangest appearance of the CSK captain due to umpiring decision confusion. 

Dhoni played a flamboyant innings with the bat to bring CSK on the doorsteps of a thrilling victory, however, the drama occurred when after Dhoni’s dismissal, on the very next delivery, first the straight umpire, Ulhas Gandhe lifted his hand to declare the no-ball for height, but suddenly he then strangely acted as if nothing happened. Also, the square leg umpire who has the absolute authority to call the no-balls in case of height issues never declared the delivery as a false one. 

This whole drama forced Dhoni to come fuming from the dugout towards the field to seek clarity on the confusion. Surprisingly, it was the first time when people saw Dhoni intervening the field and losing out his cool. However, even after a long and aggressive discussion, the no-ball wasn't declared and thus, the delivery was counted as a legitimate one.

After all this drama, CSK all-rounder Mitchell Santner showed nerves of steel, striking an unbelievable six off the final delivery to steer his team to a spectacular 4-wicket victory and in turn brought a smile on Dhoni's face as well.

There was a discussion on the no-ball being reversed

Dhoni was subsequently fined 50% of his match fees as a penalty for admitting to the Level 2 offence 2.20 in accordance with the IPL's Code of Conduct. According to latest reports, a source while speaking to IANS, it was revealed that all the concerned parties met in the match referee’s room after the game. The square leg umpire, Bruce Oxenford was not at all offended by Dhoni’s strange reaction.

“When all parties met in the match referee’s room after the game, Oxenford made it clear that he wasn’t offended by the CSK skipper’s act of walking onto the field and having a discussion on the no-ball being reversed,” quoted the source.

This is not a good look for the game

Former England skipper Michael Vaughan also mentioned his opinion on Twitter about the ongoing no-ball controversy. “This is not a good look for the game… No place at all for a captain to storm onto the pitch from the dugout,” wrote Michael Vaughan on his Twitter handle.

Former Indian and current Chennai Super Kings (CSK) skipper, MS Dhoni is known for his calm and composed attitude in even the best of pressure situations. There have been hardly one or two instances where the matters had shifted out of the turnbuckle reach after which he was forced to break the shackles. However, during the recent game against Rajasthan Royals (RR), the world witnessed the strangest appearance of the CSK captain due to umpiring decision confusion. 

Dhoni played a flamboyant innings with the bat to bring CSK on the doorsteps of a thrilling victory, however, the drama occurred when after Dhoni’s dismissal, on the very next delivery, first the straight umpire, Ulhas Gandhe lifted his hand to declare the no-ball for height, but suddenly he then strangely acted as if nothing happened. Also, the square leg umpire who has the absolute authority to call the no-balls in case of height issues never declared the delivery as a false one. 

This whole drama forced Dhoni to come fuming from the dugout towards the field to seek clarity on the confusion. Surprisingly, it was the first time when people saw Dhoni intervening the field and losing out his cool. However, even after a long and aggressive discussion, the no-ball wasn't declared and thus, the delivery was counted as a legitimate one.

After all this drama, CSK all-rounder Mitchell Santner showed nerves of steel, striking an unbelievable six off the final delivery to steer his team to a spectacular 4-wicket victory and in turn brought a smile on Dhoni's face as well.

There was a discussion on the no-ball being reversed

Dhoni was subsequently fined 50% of his match fees as a penalty for admitting to the Level 2 offence 2.20 in accordance with the IPL's Code of Conduct. According to latest reports, a source while speaking to IANS, it was revealed that all the concerned parties met in the match referee’s room after the game. The square leg umpire, Bruce Oxenford was not at all offended by Dhoni’s strange reaction.

“When all parties met in the match referee’s room after the game, Oxenford made it clear that he wasn’t offended by the CSK skipper’s act of walking onto the field and having a discussion on the no-ball being reversed,” quoted the source.

This is not a good look for the game

Former England skipper Michael Vaughan also mentioned his opinion on Twitter about the ongoing no-ball controversy. “This is not a good look for the game… No place at all for a captain to storm onto the pitch from the dugout,” wrote Michael Vaughan on his Twitter handle.