Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019: Ravichandran Ashwin Penalized For Slow Over-Rate Offense

Along with being loaded with the heavy pressure of the 5-wicket loss, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) skipper Ravichandran Ashwin had some other bearings as well from the last night’s game against Delhi Capitals (DC). The KXIP captain has been penalized for maintain a slow over-rate during the game against Delhi on Saturday. The Shreyas Iyer-led Delhi Capitals registered a sensational 5-wicket win over the visiting team at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in New Delhi.

Ashwin along with his team has been found guilty of violating the IPL’s Code of Conduct relating to minimum over-rate offences. The ending time of the game succeeded the stipulated time period. Since it is their first slow over-rate offense, thus Ashwin has been handed a fine of INR 12 Lakh.

However, Ashwin is not the only skipper to have been fined for the slow over-rate offense thus far in the tournament. Earlier, Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper Rohit Sharma, Royal Challengers Bangalore’s (RCB) Virat Kohli and Rajasthan Royals (RR) former skipper Ajinkya Rahane have also been handed the same punishment for the over-rate violation.

What happened in the match?

After losing the toss and being put in to bat first, KXIP team got off to a poor start with opener KL Rahul being dismissed in the second over with just 13 runs on the board. The duo of Mayank Agarwal and David Miller also failed to provide some valuable support to Chris Gayle. Wickets kept tumbling at one end, while Gayle continued with his natural aggressive onslaught from the other side. He absolutely felt no pressure and racked up a brilliant half-century off just 25 balls.

But then the DC bowling trio of Sandeep Lamichhane, Axar Patel and Kagiso Rabada displayed sensational combined efforts to pull back things and restrict the opposition within a chaseable first innings total. Then the DC batsmen pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer stitched an amazing partnership to relieve all the major pressure of the run-chase. DC skipper Shreyas Iyer remained unbeaten till the end to steer his team to a remarkable victory.