Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019, Match 40- RR Vs DC, Preview: Recharged Royals Aim To Take Down Resurgent Delhi

After the two engaging double-header days, it is now time for things to be back to normalization. In the 40th game of the exciting Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 extravaganza, Rajasthan Royals (RR) are all set to play hosts to Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on April 22. Both the teams are coming into this game after recording comprehensive wins in their respective previous outings. It is still an unbelievable fact to digest that this will be the first time when these two teams will be up against each other in this tournament. 

RR’s backstory

The Rajasthan Royals are coming into this match after completing a clinical 5-wicket win over Mumbai Indians (MI) in the last game. The change in skipper helped the Royals reviving their fortunes. However, their playoff dreams are still under serious threat as Royals are left with an uphill task of winning atleast four of the five remaining games and then waiting for the other results to come in their favour as well. 

However, with that win, RR also sorted out many of their major batting issues as well. The likes of Sanju Samson, newly appointed skipper Steve Smith and young Riyan Parag were the major positives from the batting point of view in the last match. While in the bowling department, Jofra Archer and Shreyas Gopal have been doing a great job thus far in the season.

DC’s backstory

The Shreyas Iyer-led team will be entering this game on the back of a convincing 5- wicket victory over Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the previous match. With a fabulous tally of 12 points in their baggage, the Capitals are finally looking good to make it to the playoffs pretty comfortably. Shikhar Dhawan coming back amongst the runs was one of the biggest positives and Shreyas Iyer's match-winning knock also should have calmed some nerves.

But Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw's regular poor stretch is certainly not helping Delhi's chances. While it is quite an evident fact that Delhi's brilliant bowling is the major reason for the team's success. Both the fast bowlers as well as the spinners have bowled really well. They would now be hoping to continue their good work in the upcoming games as well.

Head to Head Battle




Overall (18)



At the Sawai Mansingh Stadium (5)



Rajasthan Royals’ likely Playing XI

After recording a sensational victory in the last game, the Royals absolutely have no major reasons to tinker with the winning combination. This means that the in-form Sanju Samson will open the batting along with former skipper Ajinkya Rahane. Newly appointed captain Steve Smith will head the middle-order which includes the likes of Ben Stokes and Riyan Parag.

 Ashton Turner has been dismissed in last two innings for a golden duck, but the team is expected to give him a final chance. Archer and Stuart Binny will take up the finishers' role. Jofra Archer will partner with Jaydev Unadkat and Dhawal Kulkarni in the pace bowling department, while Shreyas Gopal and Parag are the two spinners. 

Probable XI: Sanju Samson (wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Steve Smith (c), Ben Stokes, Riyan Parag, Ashton Turner, Stuart Binny, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni.

Delhi Capitals’ likely Playing XI

Just like the opposition, Delhi Capitals will also field the same playing eleven which played the last game against KXIP. The in-form Shikhar Dhawan will once again take the guard at the top of the order along with struggling Prithvi Shaw. Shreyas Iyer will take up the crucial number three position with Rishabh Pant coming in at four. The duo comprising of Colin Ingram and Sherfane Rutherford will be guarding the finishers’ role.

Delhi will once again field three spinners in Axar Patel, Amit Mishra and Sandeep Lamichhane, while the duo comprising of Kagiso Rabada and Ishant Sharma will handle the fast bowling duties.

Probable XI: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford, Axar Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane.

Match Timings- 8:00 pm IST and local

Broadcast Details- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD.



Listen to Live Hindi Commentary: Click Here