Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

Chennai Super Kings Reach Eighth IPL Final With A Clinical Victory

After a lapse of concentration in the first Qualifier, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK)have come storming back with a fabulous 6-wicket win in the Qualifier 2 over the Delhi Capitals (DC) in Visakhapatnam. The CSK bowlers displayed sensational combined efforts to limit the Delhi batsmen, however, they still somehow managed to put forward a respectable first innings total on the board. However, then in the second innings, the two CSK openers, Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson, struck sublime form and stole the show with remarkable knocks, which brought the CSK team towards the victory doorsteps. Then Ambati Rayudu finished off the formalities to power CSK to their eight IPL finals.

CSK bowlers efficient effort gets to the throat, but DC still manages to reach 147

CSK skipper MS Dhoni won yet another toss and this time elected to field first. DC opener Shikhar Dhawan started the matters in a blazing manner, smacking Shardul Thakur for three successive boundaries in the second over. But his opening partner, Prithvi Shaw once again got dismissed while attempting his favourite pull shot, thereby handing CSK the first breakthrough. Dhawan also failed to convert his start as MS Dhoni took a brilliant catch behind the wickets to pick up the second Delhi wicket with 37 runs on the board.

After that opening, the CSK bowlers kept on the pressure by picking wickets at regular intervals to keep the game in their control. DC wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant did manage to dish out a couple of boundaries before holding out a simple catch to Dwayne Bravo at wide long-on region for the score of 38. However, in the final over, the fast bowling duo of Trent Boult and Ishant Sharma took Ravindra Jadeja on remand, smashing a total of 16 runs, to help Delhi Capitals reach a fighting total of 147 runs for the loss of nine wickets. For CSK, Chahar, Harbhajan, Jadeja and Bravo finished with two wickets each.

Watson and du Plessis’ entertaining fifties leads CSK

In the second innings, the two CSK openers, Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson started off things on a tentative note, managing just 16 runs in the first four overs. However, after getting set on the crease, du Plessis started playing his shots, smashing Ishant Sharma for three crisp boundaries in the final over of the powerplay. He looked in a dazzling mood, notching up a superb half-century off 37 balls to help CSK claim a solid position in the run-chase. But then he mistimed a pull-shot and got caught by Keemo Paul at deep square leg region.

After du Plessis’ wicket, suddenly Watson also picked up a blazing pace, racking up his second fifty of the tournament off just 31 balls. But then again, just likes his opening partner, Watson also threw his wicket away after getting to fifty. However, both the openers had done their share of damage, reducing the matters of the run-chase to mere formalities. Then towards the end, Ambati Rayudu batted nicely to finish off the game for his team, however, it was Dwayne Bravo who hit the winning runs to help the Yellow Army book a spot in the finals of the tournament along with Mumbai Indians.

Brief Scores:

DC: 147/9 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant-38, Colin Munro-27; Dwayne Bravo 2/19, Deepak Chahar 2/28)

CSK: 151/4 in 19 overs (Faf du Plessis-50, Shane Watson-50; Trent Boult 1/20)

Result: Chennai Super Kings won the match by 6 wickets.