Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

Mumbai Trounces Watson’s Phenomenal Efforts To Win Record Fourth IPL Title

It is often said that the big games are pressure filled affairs and this got proved in the Grand Finale of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019. But first things first, Mumbai Indians (MI) are the champions of VIVO IPL 2019 as they won their record fourth title with defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 2 runs in an absolute nerve-wracking final at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The nail-biting expedition witnessed momentum shifting ends quite frequently, but eventually, it was the Rohit Sharma-led team who held its nerves to clinch the last-ball thriller.

Mumbai got off to a flying start in the powerplay, but the CSK bowlers pulled things back brilliantly well. However, eventually MI did manage to reach a fighting first innings total. While in the second innings, Shane Watson for the second consecutive time in an IPL final produced a staggering performance. But in the end, the CSK opener failed to take his team over the finishing line.

Pollard’s power-packed late blitz propel MI to 149

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, the two MI openers, Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock started off the proceedings in a blazing manner, smashing 45 runs in 4.4 overs. However, the latter got out on just the next ball to CSK fast bowler Shardul Thakur for a 17-ball 29. CSK new ball bowler Deepak Chahar then dismissed Rohit to apply the brakes on MI’s explosive progress. The pair of Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav then led their team to a bit of recovery with a brief stand, however, both of them failed to convert their respective starts into significant knocks.

CSK in-form bowler Imran Tahir bowled really well to pick up the key scalps of both Ishan and Suryakumar. Hardik Pandya came out and did smack a couple of lusty blows before getting trapped by Shardul in the 19th over. Then there was a bit of drama in the proceedings as Dwayne Bravo bowled a clear wide delivery but the umpire never called it so, which frustrated Kieron Pollard.

However, the big-hitting Mumbai batsman then oozed out all the frustration with two crisp boundaries off the last two balls, which also helped MI reach a fighting total of 149 runs. Pollard played a vital unbeaten knock of 41 runs off just 25 balls which included three fours and as many sixes. For CSK, Chahar was the pick of the bowlers, picking three crucial wickets, while Thakur and Tahir ended with two wickets each.

Watson’s sensational knock goes in vain

Chasing a stiff target of 150 runs, CSK opener Faf du Plessis got his team off to a flying start, smacking 14 runs off Krunal Pandya’s first four balls of the fourth over. But the left-arm spinner had the last laugh, dismissing du Plessis off the fifth delivery for a 13-ball 26. However, even after losing his partner, the in-form Shane Watson continued the damage, blistering some crisp boundaries to help CSK score a total of 53 runs in the first six overs of the powerplay.

The MI bowler duo of Rahul Chahar and Jasprit Bumrah then brought their team back in the game, removing both Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu off successive overs, which also reduced CSK in a spot of bother at 73 for 3. The match saw another drama as MS Dhoni was given out in a controversial run out dismissal. But then Watson smacked Malinga for a total of 20 runs in the 15th over and also got to a fabulous half-century in that process, keeping CSK’s hopes alive in this chase.

But then Jasprit Bumrah displayed an amazing fast bowling effort in his last two overs to take the game deep, after which Malinga finally got the chance to redeem himself and he didn’t let it go off. CSK just needed 9 runs off the final over all thanks de Kock’s poor effort behind the wickets in the preceding over. But then momentum once again changed ends as the big man Watson got dismissed off the third delivery for a fighting knock of 80 runs and then Malinga showed nerves of steel to help Mumbai register an astonishing win.

Brief Scores:

MI: 149/8 in 20 overs (Kieron Pollard-41, Quinton de Kock-29; Deepak Chahar 3/26, Imran Tahir 2/12)

CSK: 148/7 in 20 overs (Shane Watson-80; Jasprit Bumrah 2/14, Rahul Chahar 1/14)

Result: Mumbai Indians won the match by 1 run.