Breaking News

Cricplex World Cup 2019

Itinerary For India’s Tour Of West Indies Revealed

West Indies Cricket Board, on Wednesday, announced the schedule for Team India’s first assignment after the ongoing World Cup 2019. The Virat Kohli-led side will travel to the USA and the Caribbeans for a full-fledged tour. India will play a 3-match T20I series, 3-match ODI and 2-match Test series on the tour that gets underway on August 3. It will start off with the T20I series in Florida, USA.

All eyes, however, will be on the World Test Championship. The No.1 ranked team will face the hosts in Guyana Antigua (August 22 to 26) and Jamaica (August 30 to September 3) for the two Tests. The ICC World Test Championship has been introduced by the International Cricket Council to give greater context to the longest format of the game and will be played over the next two years. It will feature nine of the 12 Test-playing nations, each of whom will play a Test series against six of the other eight teams.

India, the top-ranked Test side in the world right now, will go in as favourites to win the Test series but should be wary of complacency. The Caribbean team has in the recent past looked like a force to reckon with under the influential leadership of Jason Holder. Earlier this year, they stunned a strong England team 2-1 in the three-match Test series.

“The West Indies and India have a long and colorful rivalry, and the MyTeam11 Series will bring more thrilling competition across every format of the game,” Cricket West Indies Chief Executive Officer Johnny Grave said in a release. “We’ll be seeing some of the World’s best players go head to head in T20Is, ODIs and then in the new World Test Championship. West Indies fans, young and old, will have the opportunity to see some incredible cricket.”

India last played a Test series in West Indies in 2016 when they had toured the Caribbean for only the Test series of four matches. The visitors had won it 2-0. In the following year, India toured West Indies again but only for limited-overs arrangement. They won the ODI series 3-1 but had lost the one-off T20I.

Schedule for India’s tour of West Indies

T20I series

1st T20I in Florida, USA – August 3

2nd T20I in Florida, USA – August 4

3rd T20I in Guyana – August 6

All matches start at 10:30 AM local time and 8 PM IST

ODI series

1st ODI in Guyana – August 8

2nd ODI in Trinidad – August 11

3rd ODI in Trinidad – August 14

All matches start at 9:30 AM local time and 7 PM IST

Test series

1st Test in Antigua – August 22 to 26

2nd Test in Jamaica – August 30 to September 3

All matches start at 9:30 AM local time and 7 PM IST