Breaking News

Cricplex TNPL 2019

Dindigul Dragons Maintain Unbeaten Streak With Staggering 10-Wicket Win

In the 14th match of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2019, the Dindigul Dragons (DGD) registered a magnificent 10-wicket over the Karaikudi Kaalai (KK) at the Indian Cement Company Ground in Tirunelveli. The Ravichandran Ashwin-led side played remarkably well throughout the duration of the game both with the ball and bat. With this win, the Dragons are once again back on top of the points table.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, the Kaalais got off to a decent start with the two openers, L Suryaprakash and Srikkanth Anirudha, adding 43 runs for the first wicket. Suryaprakash got out in the sixth over and then Anirudha took the innings progress further along with senior batsman Dinesh Karthik. The duo stitched a stand of 39 runs before Karthik got dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin, scoring 17 off 15 balls. 

The duo of Maan Bafna and Rajhamany Srinivasan also got out pretty soon leaving their team at 98 for 4. Wickets kept tumbling at one end, while Anirudha showed remarkable composure on the other side. 

The skipper played a brilliant innings of 98 runs off 59 balls that included of seven fours and as many sixes, to power the Kaalais towards a fighting total of 158 runs. For the Dragons, the duo of Ramalingam Rohit and M Mohammed picked up two scalps each. 

Jagadeesan and Nishanth brilliant unbeaten stand fires the Dragons

Chasing a stiff target of 159 runs in the second innings, the Dindigul Dragons got off to a sensational start as both their openers, N Jagadeesan and Hari Nishanth came out with a pretty positive approach. The duo showed some remarkable amount of composure and temperament to provide a solid foundation at the top. The opening pair stitched a stupendous match-winning partnership of 161 runs to help their team chase down the target with three overs to spare.

Nishanth played an impressive innings of 81 runs off 56 balls that included of four fours and five sixes. While the in-form Jagadeesan remained unbeaten at 78 off 47 balls that consisted of 7 fours and 3 sixes.

Brief Scores

Karaikudi Kaalai: 158/7 in 20 overs (Srikkanth Anirudha-98, L Suryaprakash-20; Ramalingam Rohit 2/23) 

Dindigul Dragons: 161/0 in 17 overs (Hari Nishanth-81*, N Jagadeesan-78*)

Result: Dindigul Dragons won the match by 10 wickets.