Breaking News

Cricplex KPL 2019

Hubli Tigers Crowned KPL 2019 Champions

Hubli Tigers skipper Vinay Kumar won the toss and opted to bat first in the crucial finale encounter. However, the Tigers dealt with two early blows in the form of Mohammed Taha and Vinay Kumar’s wickets. Aditya Somanna then joined hands with Luvnith Sisodia to lead their team to a safe position. The duo added an excellent stand of 62 runs before Sisodia got dismissed for a run-a-ball 29.

Somanna played an important innings of 47 runs off 38 balls that included of 2 sixes. However, Tigers lost some vital wickets in the middle overs as the Tuskers’ bowlers did the job nicely during that period. Towards the end, Praveen Dubey smashed a cameo of 26 runs off 15 balls to help Hubli Tigers finish with 152/6 on the board. For the Bellary Tuskers, KP Appanna took two scalps, while Abrar Kazi and Karthik CA picked up a wicket each.

While chasing a target of 153 runs, Bellary Tuskers got off to a disappointing start, losing three early wickets in the form of Abhishek Reddy, Krishnappa Gowtham and Bhavesh Gulecha with just 25 runs on the board. CM Gautam and Devdutt Padikkal then added 75 runs for the fourth wicket partnership before the former got out in the 15th over. Gautam’s wicket also opened the doors for a crushing batting collapse as Bellary Tuskers lost 44 for 7.

Abilash Shetty and Aditya Somanna scalped three wickets each as Bellary Tuskers got bowled out for 144 runs. With this performance, Hubli Tigers were crowned as the champions of Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2019 edition. Vinay Kumar, the winning skipper, was very much delighted after his team won the title.

Brief Scores

Hubli Tigers: 152/6 in 20 overs (Aditya Somanna-47, Luvnith Sisodia-29; KP Appanna 2/19)

Bellary Tuskers: 144/10 in 20 overs (Devdutt Padikkal-68; Aditya Somanna 3/24, Abilash Shetty 3/34)

Result: Hubli Tigers won the match by 8 runs.