Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

Clinical India dominate Sri Lanka in the Indore T20I

Indian captain Virat Kohli once again won the toss and opted to bowl first. Sri Lanka got off to a decent start with the two opening batsmen, Danushka Gunathilaka and Avishka Fernando added 38 runs for the opening wicket stand in 4.5 overs. Fernando was dismissed by Washington Sundar after scoring 20 runs off 21 balls. At the other end, Navdeep Saini produced a phenomenal ripper to shatter Gunathilaka’s stumps.

Sri Lanka’s innings never really got going as none of their batters were allowed to settle at the crease and the Indian bowlers continued to pick wickets at regular intervals. Kusal Perera scored 34 runs off 28 balls. India’s pacer Shardul Thakur rattled the lower-order very quickly as Sri Lanka could only manage to get 142 for 9 in 20 overs. For India, Shardul finished with three wickets while Kuldeep Yadav and Navdeep Saini picked two wickets each.

In the second innings, India got off to a great start as the in-form opening batsman KL Rahul went berserk on the Sri Lankan bowlers from the very first over. Rahul played a crucial innings of 45 runs off 32 balls that included six boundaries and also added a vital opening stand of 71 runs along with Shikhar Dhawan. In order to provide him with a valuable opportunity, India decided to promote Shreyas Iyer up the order.

In his comeback game, Dhawan never looked in his usual touch and could only manage a struggling knock of 32 runs off 29 balls. Iyer took good advantage of the chance given by the team management and stitched a fine partnership of 51 runs along with skipper Virat Kohli. Iyer almost took India over the line before getting dismissed for a 26-ball 34. Virat remained unbeaten till the end at 30 runs off 17 balls and played an iconic natraj-pull shot for a six to finish things off in style with 15 balls to spare.

Brief Scores

Sri Lanka: 142/9 in 20 overs (Kusal Perera-34, Avishka Fernando-22; Shardul Thakur 3/23, Navdeep Saini 2/18)

India: 144/3 in 17.3 overs (KL Rahul-45, Shreyas Iyer-34; Wanindu Hasaranga 2/30)

Result: India won the match by 7 wickets.