Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

Dominant India Takes The Series 2-0 With Sensational Win

Sri Lankan captain Lasith Malinga won the toss and opted to bowl first. The two Indian openers, KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan got India off to a canter by striking the ball pretty nicely from the word go. India’s two openers showed remarkable composure and temperament to keep the Sri Lankan bowlers at bay for quite a substantial time. The opening duo added 97 runs for the first wicket stand.

Comeback man, Dhawan got his mojo back with a brilliant innings of 52 runs off 36 balls while Rahul scored 54 runs off 36 balls. However, after their dismissals, India suffered a mini-batting collapse as they lost wickets in quick time. Sanju Samson failed to take advantage of the given opportunity and Virat Kohli too managed to play a small cameo of 26 runs off 17 balls.

But towards the end, Manish Pandey remained unbeaten after an important 31 off 18 balls and Shardul Thakur smashed an amazing cameo of 22 runs off only 8 balls that helped India post a daunting total of 201 for 6 in 20 overs. For Sri Lanka, Lakshan Sandakan finished with three wickets.

In the second innings, Sri Lanka got off to a horrendous start losing four quick wickets inside the first six overs of the powerplay. The Indian pace bowling attack once again bowled remarkably well to rattle the Lankan top-order. The pair of Angelo Mathews and Dhananjaya de Silva then got together to steady the Sri Lankan innings and brought some life to the run-chase.

The duo stitched a fine partnership of 68 runs for the fifth wicket before Mathews was dismissed for a 20-ball 31. With Mathews’ wicket, India once again managed to create an opening and took wickets in clusters. Dhananjaya played really well for his excellent knock of 57 runs off 36 balls but Sri Lanka eventually folded for a paltry total of 123 runs in 15.5 overs. For India, Navdeep Saini picked three vital wickets while Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar scalped two wickets each.

For his all-round performance with the bat and ball, Shardul Thakur was named the Man of the Match. Navdeep Saini was adjudged as the Man of the Series for his sensational piece of bowling throughout the three-match T20I series.

Brief Scores

India: 201/6 in 20 overs (KL Rahul-54, Shikhar Dhawan-52, Manish Pandey-31*; Lakshan Sandakan 3/35)

Sri Lanka: 123/10 in 15.5 overs (Dhananjaya de Silva-57, Angelo Mathews-31; Navdeep Saini 3/28, Shardul Thakur 2/19, Washington Sundar 2/37)

Result: India won the match by 78 runs.