Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

Road Safety World Series Set To Kickoff From March 7

After the sensational and exciting Bushfire Bash, two of the biggest names in World Cricket, Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara, will be up against each other in the tournament opener as India and West Indies Legends lock horns. The duo was recently in Australia playing in Australia in Bushfire Bash though Sachin was the coach of Lara’s team. The Road Safety World Series will also see star players like Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brett Lee, Brad Hodge, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Ajantha Mendis playing apart from Tendulkar and Lara.

According to the schedule announced recently, the opening game of the tournament will be played at the Wankhede Stadium and a total of 11 matches will be played over the course of 15 days. A total of five teams – India Legends, Sri Lanka Legends, Australia Legends, South Africa Legends and West Indies Legends – will fight it out for the ultimate prize.

The exciting and entertaining T20 series is set to be played at four stadiums in India according to The Hindu. Wankhede Stadium will host two matches including the opener while the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune and D Y Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai will play hosts to four matches each. Brabourne Stadium has grabbed the hosting rights of the final which is scheduled to be played on March 22.

Interestingly, Pune will host two of India Legends’ matches (against South Africa Legends and Australia Legends on  March 14 and 20 respectively) while Wankhede and DY Patil Stadium have got a chance to host India’s one match each. Sachin Tendulkar-led India Legends will face Sri Lanka Legends at the DY Patil Stadium on March 10. All the matches will commence at 7 PM IST even as the fans will be eager to see their heroes light up the stage once again like they used to do during their playing days.