Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

New Zealand Announce Squad For India Test Series

After an exciting and entertaining battle in the limited-overs series, New Zealand and India will now be locking horns in a two-match Test series starting from February 21 in Wellington. The second Test between New Zealand and India is scheduled to start from February 29 in Christchurch. In the latest development, the hosts have finally named their squad for the upcoming series. The biggest boost for New Zealand is the return of their premier fast bowler Trent Boult.

Boult has been out with injury since the second Test against Australia and subsequently also missed the white-ball leg of the India home series. The left-arm pacer will now combine together with the likes of Tim Southee and Neil Wagner to form a potent fast bowling attack. Also, after impressive performances in the domestic circuit and in his stunning debut in the second ODI against India, Kyle Jamieson has received his maiden call-up to the New Zealand Test side.

New Zealand have named a lone spinner in Ajaz Patel who is also returning to the Test team after a long time. After ordinary performances in the Australia Test series, the troika of Mitchell Santner, Jeet Raval and Matt Henry have not been picked.  New Zealand have included two all-rounders in Colin de Grandhomme and Daryl Mitchell.

New Zealand Test squad

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell.