Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

India Announce Squad For South Africa ODI Series

Ahead of the IPL 2020, Team India is scheduled to play a short three-match ODI series against South Africa starting from March 12 in Dharamsala. India have announced a pretty full-strength squad for the upcoming ODI series as the trio of Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are back in the national team after recovering from their respective injuries. All the three cricketers proved their fitness in the recently concluded DY Patil T20 Cup.

Rohit Sharma, who pulled off his calf muscle in New Zealand, continues to miss out and is expected to make his return in the forthcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The newly appointed chairman Sunil Joshi-led selection panel have also decided to rest senior pacer Mohammed Shami. In a huge development, Kedar Jadhav has been dropped from the ODI side and Shubman Gill has been called-up as the backup opener.

In the absence of Rohit, Prithvi Shaw is likely to open the batting alongside Shikhar Dhawan with KL Rahul donning the gloves along with the middle-order batsman role. The trio of Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini and Bhuvneshwar Kumar comprise of the fast bowling attack. Two more names who were part of India’s ODI squad for the New Zealand tour, Shardul Thakur and Shivam Dube have also not been included this time.

India ODI squad

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill.