Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

Shaw’s Stunning Knock Doesn’t Go In Vain As Rabada Jail Breaks Delhi In The Super Over Finish

The tenth game of the fascinating Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 season played between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was an absolute nail-biting expedition. After a long, intriguing battle of 40 overs, the match ended in a draw and then the matters proceeded into the one-over eliminator. In the Super Over, while defending a total of 10 runs, Delhi pacer Kagiso Rabada delivered an exceptional performance to steer his team to a spectacular victory.

Earlier in the match, KKR posted a massive first innings total on the back of Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik’s blazing half-centuries. In the second innings, Prithvi Shaw composed a stupendous knock to help his team claim a domination position in the game. But after his wicket, a dramatic ending occurred as the rest of the batters failed to close the game which in turn took it towards the Super Over finish. 

Karthik and Russell’s phenomenal stand leads KKR to a remarkable recovery

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, the Knight Riders got off to a horrible start, losing two quick wickets in the first six overs of the powerplay. The Delhi bowling pair of Sandeep Lamichhane and Kagiso Rabada bowled fantastic opening spells to dismiss the two KKR openers. Even after removing the first two wickets in quick time, the Delhi bowlers never really backed down, as Harshal Patel bowled exceptionally well to leave the visitors in complete tatters at 61 for 5. The duo comprising of skipper Dinesh Karthik and the belligerent Andre Russell then combined together to bail their team out of the troublesome situation.

The duo stitched a remarkable partnership of 95 runs to propel KKR to a massive recovery. Russell was once again in an explosive touch, smashing a brilliant knock of 62 runs off just 38 balls which included 4 fours and 6 gigantic sixes. While his partner at the other end, Karthik also composed an excellent unbeaten knock of 50 runs off 36 balls to power his team to a handsome first innings total of 185 runs. For Delhi, Harshal finished his spell with two wickets to his name, while the rest of the bowlers picked up a wicket each.

Shaw’s brilliant knock take the centerstage

In the second innings, KKR leg-spinner Piyush Chawla started the proceedings with an amazing opening spell, sending back Delhi opener Shikhar Dhawan back into the pavilion with just 27 runs on the board. After Dhawan’s dismissal, Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer took the charge to steady the innings along with Prithvi Shaw. The duo of Iyer and Shaw composed a staggering partnership of 89 runs at a quick pace to help the home team attain a commanding position in the run-chase.

The Delhi Capitals skipper played a valuable innings of 43 runs, before falling prey to Russell in the 12th over. However, even after losing his skipper, young Prithvi Shaw never felt any sort of pressure of the chase and looked on course to smack his first IPL hundred. But his dreams suffered a huge heartbreak when Lockie Ferguson bowled a fantastic delivery to dismiss Shaw before reaching the three-figure mark. Nonetheless, Shaw still contributed with a scintillating knock of 99 runs off just 55 balls which consisted of 12 fours and 3 sixes. However, after Shaw’s dismissal, the game took a massive turn as Kuldeep Yadav bowled a fabulous 20th over, giving away just five runs and more importantly, the leggie’s brilliant bowling effort helped KKR take the game towards the Super Over out of nowhere.

Rabada’s phenomenal bowling deflates KKR

Delhi Capitals batted first and scored a total of 10 runs in the one-over eliminator. In the chase, Russell stroked a stunning boundary off the first ball. But then Delhi fast bowler Kagiso Rabada held his nerves to guide his team towards an astonishing victory.

Brief Scores:

KKR: 185/8 in 20 overs (Andre Russell 62, Dinesh Karthik 50, Harshal Patel 2/40)

DC: 185/6 in 20 overs (Prithvi Shaw 99, Shreyas Iyer 43, Piyush Chawla 1/36)

Super Over

DC: 10/1 in 1 over (Rishabh Pant 6*, Shreyas Iyer 4)

KKR: 7/1 in 1 over (Andre Russell 4, Robbie Uthappa 2*)

Result: Match tied. Delhi Capitals won the super over by 3 runs.