Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

Rabada’s Phenomenal Four-Fer Clinches Third Consecutive Win For DC

In the second IPL game of the blockbuster Sunday, Delhi Capitals (DC) marched off with an amazing 39-run victory over the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad. It was total bowlers dominated evening as first the SRH bowling duo comprising of Khaleel Ahmed and Bhuvneshwar Kumar delivered brilliant spells to restrict the opposition within a thin first innings total. And then in the second, it was the fast bowling trio of Kagiso Rabada, Keemo Paul and Chris Morris who displayed stunning combined efforts to defend the modest total and in turn propelled DC to a splendid win.

Khaleel and Bhuvneshwar’s tentative spells restricts DC

After losing the toss and being put in to bat first, the visiting Delhi team got off to a horrible start, losing both their openers, Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw with just 20 runs on the scoreboard. SRH left-arm fast bowler Khaleel Ahmed, who was coming off from an injury layoff, bowled an excellent opening spell to rattle the DC openers. Colin Munro, who was also playing his first game of the season, then steadied the Delhi innings with a vital cameo knock of 40 runs off just 24 balls which consisted of 4 fours and 3 sixes. However, young Abhishek Sharma never allowed him to longer his stay at the crease, claiming his maiden IPL wicket.

DC skipper Shreyas Iyer then joined hands with Rishabh Pant to lead the visiting team towards some sort of respite. The duo stitched a significant partnership of 56 runs. But the SRH bowlers delivered remarkable combined efforts to pull things back in the final few overs and in turn restricted DC within a modest total of 155 runs. Khaleel was the pick of the SRH bowlers, scalping three crucial wickets at a decent economy, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar also bowled really well to finish with two wickets to his name.

Rabada, Keemo Paul and Morris’ combined efforts leave SRH in absolute clatters

The two SRH openers, David Warner and Jonny Bairstow started things off on a pretty tentative note, compiling just 40 runs in the first six overs of the powerplay. Bairstow was still approaching his innings in a fluent manner but Warner was battling with pressure. But then the duo figured out the loopholes and decided to take Axar Patel on remand. The opening pair smashed the DC left-arm spinner for a firing total of 22 runs in two overs. Keemo Paul then bowled an excellent opening spell to pull things back, sending first Bairstow and then Kane Williamson as well back in the hut.

Despite not being his own, Warner kept fighting with pressure or the DC bowlers, bringing up a gutsy half-century to keep his team’s hopes alive and kicking in the run-chase. But then came a massive turning point in the game as Kagiso Rabada bowled a fantastic slower delivery to pick up the prized scalp of Warner and then also removed Vijay Shankar on the next ball. Chris Morris also lent his support, claiming the wickets of Rashid and Abhishek in a single over to leave the visitors in absolute tatters. Rabada then finished off the formalities of the game, picking up an astounding four-wicket haul and in turn the hosts crumbled for a paltry total of 116 runs.

Brief Scores:

DC: 155/7 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer-45, Colin Munro-40; Khaleel Ahmed 3/30, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/33)

SRH: 116/10 in 18.5 overs (David Warner-51, Jonny Bairstow-41; Kagiso Rabada 4/22, Keemo Paul 3/17, Chris Morris 3/22)

Result: Delhi Capitals won the match by 39 runs.