Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

Gill’s Flamboyance Trounces Curran’s Late Blitz To Help KKR Retain Playoffs Hopes

In the 52nd match of the exciting Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 expedition, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) registered a sensational 7-wicket victory over the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the PCA Stadium in Mohali. The home team recorded an imposing first innings total due to Sam Curran’s brilliant half-century knock. While in the second innings, KKR young opener Shubman Gill compiled a splendid innings to stand tall and steered his team to a comfortable win. With this victory, KKR have kept their playoffs hopes very much alive, while KXIP have been knocked out of the tournament.

Sam Curran’s quick-fire half-century knock propel KXIP to 183

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, the hosts got off to a horrible start as both their premier openers, KL Rahul and Chris Gayle were sent back to the pavilion within the first six overs of the powerplay. KKR new ball bowler Sandeep Warrier bowled an excellent opening spell to rattle the two KXIP openers. The duo comprising of Nicholas Pooran and Mayank Agarwal bailed their team out of troublesome situation with a vital stand of 69 runs. Pooran played the role of the aggressor in the partnership, smashing 48 runs off just 27 balls which included 4 sixes and 3 fours.

Towards the end, the pair of Mandeep Singh and Sam Curran gave fabulous finish touch to help KXIP post a pretty challenging total of 183 runs. Mandeep played a vital cameo of 25 runs, while Curran remained unbeaten till end,  smacking a quick-fire half-century off just 23 balls. For KKR, Warrier finished with two wickets to his name, while the likes of Harry Gurney, Andre Russell, and Nitish Rana picked up a wicket each.

Gill stands tall to take KKR home

Chasing a big target of 184 runs, the two in-form KKR openers, Shubman Gill and Chris Lyn started off the matters with a smashing partnership of 62 runs for the first wicket. The duo of Gill and Lynn provided a solid opening platform to steady the KKR innings. Lynn became the first victim off Andrew Tye in the final over of the powerplay for a quick-fire knock of 46 runs which included five fours and three sixes. Robin Uthappa was also looking in a dangerous touch, scoring 22 in 14 balls before getting dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin.

Just like the previous match, Andre Russell was once again promoted up the order and then he did his usual job of carving the opposition bowlers to perfection. His partner at the other end, Gill started from where he left in the previous outing, notching up his third half-century of the season. The duo of Russell and Gill stitched a significant fifty-run partnership to help KKR claim a strong position in the run-chase. Towards the end, KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik finished off the formalities, taking full toll in the 18th over bowled by Sam Curran to guide his team to an easy win with 12 balls to spare in the game.

Brief Scores:

KXIP: 183/6 in 20 overs (Sam Curran-55, Nicholas Pooran-48; Sandeep Warrier 2/31)

KKR: 185/3 in 20 overs (Shubman Gill-65*, Chris Lynn-46; Mohammed Shami 1/15)

Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won the match by 7 wickets.