Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019, Match 53- DC Vs RR, Preview: DC Focus On Top Two Finish, RR Look To Keep Playoffs Hopes Alive

In the first game of the Super IPL Saturday (May 4), Delhi Capitals (DC) will be squaring up against the Rajasthan Royals at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in New Delhi. This is the last game of the season for both the teams. The home team has already qualified for the playoffs stage while the Rajasthan Royals desperately need a win in order to stay alive in the contention. In the first meeting between these two teams earlier in the competition, Delhi emerged victorious with a six-wicket margin. 

DC’s backstory

The Shreyas Iyer-led team is coming into this match after suffering a massive 80-run defeat at the hands of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the previous outing. The loss was a great reality check for both the Delhi batters as well as the bowlers. The DC middle-order batsmen were the major disappointments. Barring Shreyas Iyer, rest of all the batters failed to contribute much in the last match and thus, they will be hoping to come good in this game. 

In the bowling department, DC team have suffered a body blow as their premier fast bowler Kagiso Rabada has been ruled out for the remainder of the season with a back niggle. In his absence, the entire responsibility will be on the shoulders of Trent Boult. The likes of Axar Patel and Amit Mishra also need to step up to lead the bowling attack.

RR’s backstory

The Royals will be entering into this game after witnessing a heartening result in the last match, ending without a result as the rain gods halted the five-overs-a-side encounter against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). The top-order batters have only gotten the chance to strike form in the last two match and all of them have reaped the rewards. They have a big hole to fill up in Steve Smith’s absence. His leadership responsibilities will be taken over by Ajinkya Rahane, while the rest of the batters also need to take the responsibility.

The likes of Shreyas Gopal and Oshane Thomas have done really well in the last few games. They will be hoping to come good in this game as well. However, death bowling will still be a big concern for the RR team.

Head to Head Battle




Overall (19)



At the Feroz Shah Kotla (7)



Delhi Capitals’ likely Playing XI

Even after suffering a massive loss in the previous match, Delhi Capitals will most probably field the same combination. The duo comprising of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw will once again take the guards as the two openers. DC skipper Shreyas Iyer will head the middle-order which will include the likes of Rishabh Pant and Colin Ingram. Sherfane Rutherford, who had a fantastic outing against RCB, will play the finisher’s role.

The spin trio of Axar Patel, Amit Mishra and Jagadeesha Suchith will retain their respective spots. Trent Boult played the last game due to Rabada being rested and now with the latter pulling out of the season, Boult becomes a must-pick for every game. Boult will partner Chris Morris in the fast bowling department.

Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Chris Morris, Trent Boult, Jagadeesha Suchith.

Rajasthan Royals’ likely Playing XI

The in-form pair of Ajinkya Rahane and Liam Livingstone will open the batting. They might consider Sanju Samson in place of Rahane to take his position as an opener.  Ashton Turner, who has finally opened his account in the tournament, will replace Steve Smith. The rest of the middle-order batters will be young Riyan Parag, Stuart Binny and Mahipal Lomror. The latter two batsmen will also take up the finisher’ role.

In the pace bowling department, Oshane Thomas will partner with the likes of Varun Aaron and Jaydev Unadkat. Shreyas Gopal will be the lead spinner in the side with assistance from Mahipal Lomror and Riyan Parag.

Probable XI: Sanju Samson (wk), Liam Livingstone, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Ashton Turner, Riyan Parag, Mahipal Lomror, Shreyas Gopal, Stuart Binny, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Jaydev Unadkat.

Match Timings- 4:00 pm IST and local

Broadcast Details- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD.



Listen to Live Hindi Commentary: Click Here