Breaking News

Cricplex IPL

IPL 2019, Eliminator- DC Vs SRH, Preview: Delhi And Hyderabad Out To Avoid Early Exit

In the second game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 playoffs- Eliminator, the Delhi Capitals will be locking horns with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on May 8, Wednesday. Both the teams will be desperately chasing a win in this encounter as the losing team will straightaway get evicted from the tournament. These two teams have faced each other twice in the season thus far and in the first encounter, SRH won by five wickets, while in the second game, DC emerged victorious by a 39-run margin.

DC’s backstory

The Shreyas Iyer-led team is coming into this game after recording a sensational 5-wicket victory over the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in their last match of the league stages. However, despite that win, there are still some concerns especially from the batting perspective which needs to be sorted out pretty quickly. The top-order hasn’t quite impressed in the last two matches and the batters will be expected to be back amongst the runs in this important game.

However, their bowling has been very much upto the mark in this season thus far as both the fast bowlers as well as the spinners have bowled really well. The bowlers would be hoping to keep up the good in this match as well.

SRH’s backstory

The Kane Williamson-led team will be arriving into this match on the back of conceding a comprehensive 4-wicket loss in the previous outing against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). However, despite losing that game, the SRH team still managed to qualify for the playoffs due to their points tally being more than Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and the other teams who were probably in the contention. SRH also became the first team in the entire IPL history to qualify for the knockouts with a total of 12 points. But still the problems for the SRH team are much more as compared to the opposition.

Their batting looks very much depleted in the absence of the two starring performers of the season, David Warner and Jonny Bairstow. Manish Pandey and Kane Williamson, who did well in the last match, have been the major positives for them. The bowlers also had a poor outing in the last match and they too will be looking to put an improved show in this match.

Head to Head Battle




Overall (14)



In Visakhapatnam (1)



Delhi Capitals’ likely Playing XI

The Delhi Capitals will most probably field the same winning combination from the previous game. This means that the duo comprising of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw will once again take their guards as the openers. DC skipper Shreyas Iyer will take up the crucial number three slot and will hope to lead from the front in this crucial game. The other middle-order positions will be taken by Rishabh Pant and Colin Ingram. 

Chris Morris could also come in for Sherfane Rutherford. Depending on the Vizag pitch, Keemo Paul should make way for Sandeep Lamichhane. Axar Patel and Amit Mishra will be the other two spinners, while Ishant Sharma and Trent Boult will take care of the fast bowling duties. 

Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford/Chris Morris, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Trent Boult, Sandeep Lamichhane. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s likely Playing XI

The explosive pair of Martin Guptill and Wriddhiman Saha will be opening the batting. Manish Pandey will head the middle-order which will include the likes of the in-form skipper Kane Williamson, Yusuf Pathan and Vijay Shankar. Mohammad Nabi along with Pathan will be providing the finishing touch. 

The only change which the SRH team will make is probably shifting places of Basil Thampi with either of Sandeep Sharma or Siddarth Kaul. Thampi did a decent job in the previous match, but still he will have to sit out of this game. Bhuvneshwar and Khaleel will be the other two fast bowlers. Rashid Khan and Nabi will form part of the spin bowling attack. 

Probable XI: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Martin Guptill, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson (c), Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma/Siddarth Kaul. 

Match Timings- 7:30 pm IST and local

Broadcast Details- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD.