Breaking News

Cricplex TNPL 2019

Jagadeesan Ton Powers Dragons To Sensational Win

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, Ruby Trichy Warriors got off to a sensational start with the two openers, Murali Vijay and K Mukunth following a positive approach. The duo compiled a fabulous partnership of 106 runs for the opening wicket before Mukunth was dismissed for 43 runs off 40 balls that consisted of six fours. Chandrasekar Ganapathy and Vijay added 53 runs for the second wicket, but the former could only manage 9 runs off 17 balls.

Vijay held the innings firmly from one end, playing a staggering innings, however, he fell short of century, getting dismissed for 99 runs off 62 balls that included of seven fours and as many sixes. Due to Vijay’s remarkable knock, Ruby Trichy Warriors managed to finish with 178 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 20 overs. For Dindigul Dragons, Jagannathan Kaushik picked up two wickets.

Chasing a target of 179 runs in the second innings, Dindigul Dragons got off to a poor start losing the wicket of Hari Nishanth in the fourth over with 34 runs on the board. The duo comprising of N Jagadeesan and NS Chaturved then added 58 runs for the second wicket partnership. Chaturved got out in the 13th over after scoring 20 runs off 22 balls. Ravichandran Ashwin came out to bat at four and got run-out after scoring just 1 run.

Jagadeesan, who is the leading run-scorer of the tournament, suddenly started taking the Warriors’ bowlers towards amazing cleaners.  He composed a stupendous innings of 105 runs off 60 balls that included of 12 fours and 4 sixes, to help his team chase down the target with five balls to spare.

Brief Scores

Ruby Trichy Warriors: 178/3 in 20 overs (Murali Vijay-99, K Mukunth-43; Jagannathan Kaushik 2/45)

Dindigul Dragons: 182/5 in 19.1 overs (N Jagadeesan-105*, R Vivek-29; Sai Kishore 2/16)

Result: Dindigul Dragons won the match by 5 wickets.