Breaking News

Cricplex TNPL 2019

Shahrukh And Bowlers Give Kovai Kings Effortful Win

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Lyca Kovai Kings got off to a brilliant start at the top with the two openers, Shahrukh Khan and skipper Abhinav Mukund coming out with a positive approach. The duo stitched a fine stand of 84 runs for the opening wicket before Mukund was dismissed for 32 off 31 balls in the 11th over. Muhammed Khan who came out to bat at three also got out pretty soon.

Shahrukh played an excellent innings of 59 runs that came off 43 balls and included of six fours and two sixes. However, the Karaikudi Kaalai bowlers made a stunning comeback in the game by picking up wickets on regular basis and eventually succeeded in restricting the Kovai Kings at 154 for 7 in 20 overs.

For the Kaalais, R Rajkumar picked up two vital scalps, while Sunil, Swaminathan, Ashwin and Shajahan took a wicket each.

Bowlers collective effort restricts the Kaalais

Chasing a stiff target of 155 runs in the second innings, Kaalais got off to a poor start with opening batsman Laxmesha Suryaprakash walking back early to the pavilion. Their trouble just got intensified as three more wickets in the form of Srikkanth Anirudha, Rajhamany Srinivasan and Yo Mahesh, leaving the Kaalais at 37 for 4.

After the early damage, Karaikudi Kaalai team kept on losing wickets at regular intervals as none of their middle-order batters showed any sense of responsibility to play sensibly. Eventually the required run-rate increased quite a bit and Karaikudi Kaalai could only manage to get 139 for 7 in 20 overs. For the Kovai Kings, Malolan Rangarajan and Antony Dhas picked up two wickets each, while Natarajan, Ajith and Manigandan took a scalp each.

Brief Scores

Lyca Kovai Kings: 154/7 in 20 overs (Shahrukh Khan-59, Abhinav Mukund-32; R Rajkumar 2/38, Shajahan 1/4)

Karaikudi Kaalai: 139/7 in 20 overs (Shajahan-41*; Malolan Rangarajan 2/10, Antony Dhas 2/26)

Result: Lyca Kovai Kings won the match by 15 runs.