Breaking News

Cricplex Latest News

Windies Vs England: Andre Russell Ruled Out Of The T20I Series

The host Windies team has suffered a vital blow ahead of the three-match T20I series against England. Their premier all-rounder Andre Russell has been ruled out for the entire series due to a leg injury. The first T20I match between Windies and England is scheduled to begin on March 6 in St Lucia. Earlier, Russell was included in the Windies squad for the last two ODIs against the English team, but he was forced to miss both the games due to the same injury.

Russell withdrawn from the T20I squad

Cricket West Indies (CWI) recently released a statement stating that Russell has been withdrawn from the Windies squad for the upcoming T20I series against England. It was further revealed that the all-rounder has aggravated his leg injury. He had earlier undergone a medical procedure for the same issue in Dubai. 

“A CWI medical panel outlined that Andre Russell has been withdrawn from the squad, due to an adverse reaction he had to a medical procedure done in Dubai before he flew to the Caribbean,” Cricket West Indies said in a recent statement.

Jason Holder to lead the Windies team in the England T20Is

The other major development is that Jason Holder who led the Windies team to a sensational Test series win and then drew the ODI series, will now captain the T20I side as well. The chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne revealed that after a discussion with the coach and captain, the selectors have decided to retain the same team which played the ODIs. He further opined that picking the same squad will aid in the Windies team's 2019 World Cup preparations.

“After discussion with the coach surrounding preparation for the World Cup, it was proposed that we retain the ODI squad to play the T20 matches against England. After deliberations with captain, coach and the panel, we all are of the opinion that it would aid in the team’s World Cup preparations,” quoted Courtney Browne.

Windies squad for the three T20Is against England

Chris Gayle, John Campbell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Holder(c), Ashley Nurse, Oshane Thomas, Devendra Bishoo, Sheldon Cottrell.